Celebrating 40 Years


Lessons Beyond Medicine


View WTVP's 2011 documentary on the past, present, and future of UICOMP

In 1970, the state legislature authorized the University of Illinois to expand medical education opportunities at the College of Medicine beyond Chicago by creating additional sites in Peoria, Rockford, and Urbana. As a result, the Peoria School of Medicine opened its doors later that same year.

Originally located in Peoria’s First National Bank building in downtown Peoria, classes were moved to Bradley University’s Burgess Hall in 1972. On November 22, 1976, the Peoria School of Medicine dedicated its permanent home at the current location, One Illini Drive, in downtown Peoria.

The School of Medicine was officially renamed the University of Illinois College of Medicine at Peoria (UICOMP) in 1982. Peoria’s first class of 18 medical students graduated in 1973. Since that time, about 1,800 physicians have received Doctor of Medicine Degrees from UICOMP.

Through the combined services of patient care, education and training, clinical research, job creation, volunteerism, community outreach, and facility development, UICOMP strives to enrich the quality of healthcare and everyday life throughout the Heart of Illinois.